Your voice on campus!

Excellence in Teaching Awards 2019/2020

News details


For media enquiries, please contact studentengagement@guild.curtin.edu.au

More News

Curtin’s top teachers

Twelve academics have been named as Curtin’s top teachers at the 2020 Excellence in Teaching Awards held last week by the Curtin Student Guild.

Guild President Hana Arai said that the Excellence in Teaching Awards were especially important because Curtin staff were nominated by the student community and awarded by a selection panel of students.

“There were almost 400 nominations received this year and it was a tough choice as the nominations were of such a high standard,” she said.

The awards recognise teachers who have displayed excellence in classroom communication, who always make an effort to engage and promote student participation and who display passion and enthusiasm for their teaching area.

Mr Arai said that great teachers could change the lives of their students and the Excellence in Teaching Awards were an acknowledgement to those extraordinary individuals at Curtin who had inspired their students to realise their full potential.

“As an organisation led by students, the Guild recognises that our lecturers, tutors and supervisors are the heart of the university.

“The job of an academic is increasingly complex and this year COVID has thrown up even more challenges.

Ms Arai said that as universities were increasingly focused on the bottom line, the working and teaching conditions of academic staff were under constant pressure.

She said that it was a credit to Curtin’s academic community that such a high standard of teaching was achieved in this challenging climate.

“This year’s award recipients are passionate, dedicated, and incredibly knowledgeable people who have gone above and beyond for their students,” said Ms Arai.

Faculty of Business and Law

Faculty Price: Mr Wahseem Soobratty
Honourable Mention: Dr Eileen Aitken-Fox
Research Supervisor: Dr Luke Butcher

Faculty of Humanities

Faculty Prize: Dr Madison Magladry
Honourable Mention: Mr Daniel McKeating
Research Supervisor: Dr Marcia Van Zeller

Faculty of Health Sciences

Faculty Prize: Mr Adrian Paxman
Honourable Mention: Dr Penny Moss
Research Supervisor: Dr Lucinda (Cindy) Black

Faculty of Science and Engineering

Faculty Prize: Ms Anne D'Arcy Warmington
Honourable Mention: Professor James Miller-Jones
Research Supervisor: Dr Alan Payne