

Student Guild of Curtin University

56th Guild Council – Meeting #01

2/12/24

MINUTES

1. Acknowledgement of the Traditional Owners

The Curtin Student Guild pays our respect to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander members of our community by acknowledging the traditional owners of the land on which the Bentley Campus is located, the Wadjuk people of the Nyungar Nation; and on our Kalgoorlie Campus, the Wongutha people of the North-Eastern Goldfields. We acknowledge and respect their continuing culture and the contribution they make to the life of this university, city and this region."

2. Attendance

- 2.1. Members Present; Dylan Storer, Noor Fellah, Ben Burgess, Jacquie Bicanic, Razanne Al-Abdeli, Sarina Pun, Ella Marchionda, Mitch Craig, Callum Baxter, Hamide Kocer, Bridget Clifton, Emily Lassam, David Phillips,
- 2.2. Others Present; Jasmyne Tweed, Vernon Thompson (managing director),
 Maryanne Shaddick (minute secretary), Rabab Ahsan, Nandani Khetia, Anniesey
 Nicole Alconaba, Morgan Mills, Cooper Henrickson, Tom Harrowing
- 2.3. Apologies and Leave of Absence; Ryan Kirby, Ebony Whitney
- 2.4. Absent; Shiura Yoosuf

3. Disclosure of any potential or perceived Conflicts of Interest

Mitch Craig, Bridget Clifton and David Phillips noted a conflict of interest for items 5.3 and 5.4. The chair noted members were happy for them to remain present.

4. Vacancies in Membership

5. Appointments

5.1. Appointment of Secretary

Motion: That the Guild Council notes the uncontested appointment of Noor Fellah to the position of Secretary.

Moved: Dylan Storer (President)

Seconded: Ben Burgess (Vice President - Education)

Carried

5.2. Appointment of Chair

Motion: That the Guild Council notes the uncontested appointment of Ryan Kirby to the position of Chair of Guild Council.

Moved: Dylan Storer (President)

Seconded: Ben Burgess (Vice President - Education)

Carried

5.3. Appointment of Deputy Chair

Motion: That the Guild Council notes the uncontested appointment of Mitchell Craig to the position of Chair of Guild Council and Chair of the Finance and Risk Committee (ex officio).

Moved: Dylan Storer (President)

Seconded: Ben Burgess (Vice President - Education)

Carried

5.4. Appointment to Committee

Motion: That the Guild Council notes the uncontested appointment of Mitchell Craig and Ebony Whitney to the Legal Committee.

Moved: Dylan Storer (President)

Seconded: Ben Burgess (Vice President - Education)

Carried

Motion: That the Guild Council notes the uncontested appointment of Ebony Whitney, Bridget Clifton and David Phillips to the Finance and Risk Committee.

Moved: Dylan Storer (President)

Seconded: Ben Burgess (Vice President - Education)

Carried

5.5. Other Appointments

No other appointments

The Chair, Jasmyne Tweed, noted there was one last matter to cover. Jasmyne said that in accordance with Section 27(1)(c) of the Student Guild (Guild Council) Regulations 2018, the Guild Councillor Position that Ella Marchionda currently held was being declared vacant for missing two consecutive meetings in a row on the 5th of November and the 21st of November. The vacant Guild Council position would be filled in accordance with the Guild Statute Book.

6. Next Meeting

Notice of the next ordinary meeting of the Guild Council will be provided via electronic mail at least two weeks prior to that meeting by the Chair or minute taker.