

Student Guild of Curtin University

55th Guild Council – Meeting #01

To be held at 12PM on Friday 1st of December 2023

In TL Robertson Library Level 7 Building 105

AGENDA

- 1. Acknowledgement of the Traditional Owners
- 2. Attendance
 - 2.1. Members Present;
 - 2.2. Others Present;
 - 2.3. Apologies and Leave of Absence;
 - 2.4. Absent;
- 3. Disclosure of any potential or perceived Conflicts of Interest
- 4. Vacancies in Membership
- 5. Appointments

5.1. Appointment of Secretary

Motion: That the Guild Council notes the uncontested appointment of Mitchell Craig to the position of Secretary.

Moved: Jasmyne Tweed (President)

Seconded: Veronika Gobba (Vice President - Education)

5.2. Appointment of Chair

Motion: That the Guild Council notes the uncontested appointment of Ryan Kirby to the position of Chair of Guild Council.

Moved: Jasmyne Tweed (President)

Seconded: Veronika Gobba (Vice President - Education)

5.3. Appointment of Deputy Chair

Motion: That the Guild Council notes the uncontested appointment of Ben Burgess to the position of Chair of Guild Council and Chair of the Finance and Risk Committee (ex officio).

Moved: Jasmyne Tweed (President)

Seconded: Veronika Gobba (Vice President - Education)

5.4. Appointment to Committee

Motion: That the Guild Council notes the uncontested appointment of Ryan Kirby and Aleena Shaji to the Legal Committee.

Moved: Jasmyne Tweed (President)

Seconded: Veronika Gobba (Vice President - Education)

Motion: That the Guild Council notes the uncontested appointment of Aleena Shaji, Sarina Pun and Texa Rose Robin to the Finance and Risk Committee.

Moved: Jasmyne Tweed (President)

Seconded: Veronika Gobba (Vice President - Education)

5.5. Other Appointments

No other appointments

6. Next Meeting

Notice of the next ordinary meeting of the Guild Council will be provided via electronic mail at least two weeks prior to that meeting by the Chair or minute taker.



Student Guild of Curtin University 55th Guild Council Membership Pending Approval of Appointments As of 1st December 2023

Membership Category & Name of Member	Term
(a) President; Jasmyne Tweed	1.12.2023 – 30.11.2024 Previously Guild Councillor & Secretary 1.12.2022 – 30.11.2023 Chair of Representation Board 1.12.2021 – 30.11.2022
(b) Secretary; Mitch Craig	1.12.2023 – 30.11.2024 <i>Guild Councillor</i> 1.12.2023 – 30.11.2025
(c) Vice President - Education; Veronika Gobba	1.12.2022 - 30.11.2024 Previously as Guild Councillor 24.09.2022-30.11.2022
(d) Vice President - Activities; Max Zhang	1.12.2023 - 30.11.2024 Previously Guild Councillor 1.12.2022 - 30.11.2023
(e) Vice President – Sustainability & Welfare; Jacquie Bicanic	1.12.2023 - 30.11.2024 Previously Guild Councillor 1.12.2022 - 30.11.2023
(f) Guild Councillors Sarina Pun	1.12.2023 - 30.11.2025
Ella Marchionda	1.12.2023 - 30.11.2025
Mitch Craig Elected as Secretary 1.12.2023 – 30.11.2024. Pursuant to Regulation 29(2) of the Student Guild (Guild Council) Regulations 2018.	1.12.2023 - 30.11.2025
Callum Baxter	1.12.2023 - 30.11.2025
Ryan Kirby Elected as Chair of Guild Council, 1.12.2023 – 30.11.2024. Pursuant to Regulation 34(2) of the Student Guild (Guild Council) Regulations 2018.	1.12.2023 - 30.11.2025
Texa Robin	1.12.2023 - 30.11.2025
Vishaal Ananth	1.12.2022 - 30.11.2024
Rey Nairn	1.12.2022 - 30.11.2024
Tahni Rowe	1.12.2022 - 30.11.2024

Aleena Shaji	1.12.2022 - 30.11.2024 Deputy Chair 1.12.2022 - 30.11.2023
Noor Fellah	1.12.2023 - 30.11.2024
Ben Burgess Elected as Deputy Chair of Guild Council, 1.12.2023 – 30.11.2024. Pursuant to Regulation 34(9) of the Student Guild (Guild Council) Regulations 2018.	1.12.2023 - 30.11.2024

Standing Invite Category & Name of Invite	Term
(a) Immediate Past President	30.12.2023 – incertus
Dylan Botica	Previously as President
	28.07.2022 – 30.11.2023
	Secretary
	1.12.2021-20.6.2022
	Chair of the Representation Board
	1.12.2020 – 30.11.2021
	Guild Councillor
	1.12.2018 – 30.11.2022
(b) Manager Director	ex officio
David Luketina	
(c) Minute Secretary;	ex officio
Maryanne Shaddick	



Student Guild of Curtin University 55th Guild Council Declaration of Result Body Appointment Guild Council – Secretary

Eligible Nominations

At the close of nominations at 4.30pm on Thursday, 2 November 2023, one eligible nomination for the position of Secretary was received by the Returning Officer.

Mitch Craig

Declaration of Result

The number of nominations received is equal to the number of positions available, therefore a ballot did not take place.

I declare that Mitch Craig has been elected as Secretary.

Kind regards,

Maryanne Shaddick Returning Officer Curtin Student Guild



Student Guild of Curtin University 55th Guild Council Declaration of Result Body Appointment Guild Council – Chair of Guild Council

Eligible Nominations

At the close of nominations at 4.30pm on Thursday, 2 November 2023, one eligible nomination for the position of Chair of Guild Council was received by the Returning Officer.

Ryan Kirby

Declaration of Result

The number of nominations received is equal to the number of positions available, therefore a ballot did not take place.

I declare that Ryan Kirby has been elected as Chair of Guild Council.

Kind regards,

Maryanne Shaddick Returning Officer Curtin Student Guild



Student Guild of Curtin University 55th Guild Council Declaration of Result

Body Appointment Guild Council – Deputy Chair of Guild Council

(and Chair of Finance and Risk Committee ex-officio)

Eligible Nominations

At the close of nominations at 4.30pm on Thursday, 2 November 2023, one eligible nomination for the position of Deputy Chair of Guild Council (and Chair of Finance and Risk Committee ex officio) was received by the Returning Officer.

Ben Burgess

Declaration of Result

The number of nominations received is equal to the number of positions available, therefore a ballot did not take place.

I declare that Ben Burgess has been elected as Deputy Chair of Guild Council (and Chair of Finance and Risk Committee ex-officio).

Kind regards,

Maryanne Shaddick Returning Officer Curtin Student Guild



Student Guild of Curtin University 55th Guild Council Declaration of Result Body Appointments Guild Council Legal Committee and Finance and Risk Committee

Eligible Nominations

At the close of nominations at 4.30pm on Thursday, 2 November 2023, two eligible nominations for Legal Committee were received by the Returning Officer.

- Ryan Kirby
- Aleena Shaji

At the close of nominations at 4.30pm on Thursday, 2 November 2023, three eligible nominations for the Finance and Risk Committee were received by the Returning Officer

- Aleena Shaji
- Sarina Pun
- Texa Rose Robin

Declaration of Result

The number of nominations received is equal to the number of positions available, therefore a ballot did not take place.

 I declare that Ryan Kirby and Aleena Shaji have been elected to the Legal Committee, and that Aleena Shaji, Sarina Pun and Texa Rose Robin have been elected to the Finance and Risk Committee.

Kind regards,

Maryanne Shaddick Returning Officer Curtin Student Guild