Student Guild of Curtin University

52nd Guild Council – Meeting #7

To be held at 6pm on Thursday 29th of July 2021

In 100.301

AGENDA

1. Acknowledgement of the Traditional Owners

"The Curtin Student Guild would like to pay our respect to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander members of our community by acknowledging the traditional owners of the land on which the Bentley Campus is located, the Wadjuk people of the Nyungar Nation; and on our Kalgoorlie Campus, the Wongutha people of the North-Eastern Goldfields. We acknowledge and respect their continuing culture and the contribution they make to the life of this university, city and this region."

- 2. Attendance
 - 2.1. Members Present;
 - 2.2. Others Present;

CURTIN Student

GUILD

- 2.3. Apologies and Leave of Absence;
- 2.4. Absent;
- 3. Disclosure of any potential or perceived Conflicts of Interest
- Minutes of the Previous Meeting 4.1. Previous Meeting Minutes

Motion: That the Guild Council approves the minutes of the previous meeting held on the 24/06/2021, as a true and accurate record of proceedings at that meeting.

Moved: Fatma Sehic (Secretary) Seconded:

4.2. Circular Resolutions - #2/2021 (passed)

Motion: That the Guild Council appoints Jesse Naylor Zambrano as the Chair of the Remuneration Tribunal 2021.

Moved: Fatma Sehic (Secretary) Seconded: Lachlan Lee (Vice President – Activities)

- 5. Matters Arising from the Minutes
- 6. Reports
 - 6.1. President Submitted
 - 6.2. Vice President Education Not Submitted
 - 6.3. Vice President Activities Submitted
 - 6.4. Secretary Submitted

6.5. Managing Director – Excluded for confidentiality reasons

Motion: That the Guild Council approves the reports.

Moved: Fatma Sehic (Secretary) Seconded:

7. Safety Report

Action: That the Guild Council discusses the Safety Report.

Motion: That the Guild Council notes the Safety Report.

Moved: Fatma Sehic Seconded:

- 8. Business on Notice
 - 8.1. Appointing Negotiator for Managing Director Contract Terms (excluded for confidentiality reasons)

8.2. Guild Council Guidelines for Managing Director Negotiation (excluded for confidentiality reasons)

Motion: That the Guild Council approves the proposed guidelines for the individual negotiating the terms of employment for the Managing Director's new contract.

Moved: Fatma Sehic Seconded:

8.3. Finance and Risk Committee Constitution

Motion: That the Guild Council, on the recommendation of Legal Committee, approves the following amendments to the Finance and Risk Committee Constitution.

Moved: Fatma Sehic Seconded: Jesse Naylor Zambrano

8.4. Commercial Operations Committee Constitution

Motion: That the Guild Council, on recommendation of the Legal Committee, approves the Managing Director to be added as a standing invite in the Commercial Operations Committee constitution.

Moved: Fatma Sehic Seconded: Jesse Naylor Zambrano

- 8.5. Delegations
 - 8.5.1. Alteration of Delegated Power 8.18
 - 8.5.2. Further delegation of Delegated Power 8.20

8.5.3. Alteration of Delegated Power 8.23

Motion: That the Guild Council approves the changes to delegations en bloc.

Moved: Seconded:

8.6. Alterations to TidyHQ Regulations

Motion: That Guild Council makes TidyHQ non-mandatory for clubs.

Moved: Rachel Taylor Seconded: Luke Brosnan

8.7. Referendum on the National Union of Students (NUS)

Motion: That the Guild Council upon the recommendation of the Representation Board hold a referendum to run concurrently with the Annual Elections.

The proposition being: "That the Curtin Student Guild leave the National Union of Students for 2022".

That the Guild Council appoint agents for the 'Yes' and 'No' campaigns with preference given to members of the Representation Board.

Moved: Fatma Sehic Seconded: Jesse Naylor Zambrano

8.8. Guild Café Rebranding Referendum

Motion: That the Guild Council hold a referendum to run concurrently with the Annual General Elections.

The proposition being that "The Guild rename its outlet 'Guild Café: Engineering' to 'Guild Café: Basement'.

The Guild Council will appoint Guild Members to act as agents for the 'Yes' and 'No' campaigns respectively if required.

Moved: Rachel Taylor Seconded: Luke Brosnan

8.9. President and Secretary Timesheets

Discussion: Would the Guild Council like for the President and Secretary to submit their timesheets to the Guild Council as part of reporting each month?

Raised by:

- 9. Minutes of Committees Reporting to the Guild Council
 - 9.1. Representation Board Meetings held on 17/06/2021
 - 9.2. Legal Committee Meetings held on 16/06/2021

Motion: That the Guild Council notes the minutes of the boards and committees en bloc.

Moved: Fatma Sehic (Secretary) Seconded:

- 10. General Business
- 11. Next Meeting

The next ordinary meeting of the Guild Council is Thursday, 26th of August at 5pm to be held at 100.301. Documents and motions are to be submitted no later than 4:30pm on Thursday 19th of July to secretary@guild.curtin.edu.au

Curtin Student Guild

CURTIN Student Guild

52nd Guild Council Membership List

As of 27/07/2021

bership Category & Name of Member	Term
(a) President;	
Jesse Naylor Zambrano	1.12.2020 - 30.11.2
(b) Secretary; Fatma Sehic Elected as General Secretary, 1.12.2020 – 30.11.2021. Pursuant to Regulation 4(5)(b) and 29(4) of the Student Guild (Guild Council) Regulations 2018.	1.12.2020 - 30.11.2
(c) Vice President - Education; Bridge Truell	1.12.2020 - 30.11.2
(d) Vice President - Activities;	
Lachlan Lee	1.12.2020 - 30.11.2
(e) Chair of Representation Board; Dylan Botica Elected as Chair of Representation Board, 1.12.2020 – 30.11.2021. Pursuant to Regulation 4(2)(f) and 18 of the Student Guild (Guild Council) Regulations 2018.	1.12.2020 - 30.11.2
(f) Chair of Guild Council; Lucy Rohl	1.12.2020 - 30.11.2
(g) Deputy Chair of Guild Council; Shannon Chong	1.12.2020 - 30.11.2
(h) Guild Councillors	
Lucy Rohl	1.12.2020 - 30.11.2
Shannon Chong	1.12.2020 - 30.11.2
Clare Metcalf	1.12.2020 - 30.11.2
Rachel Taylor	1.12.2020 - 30.11.2
Robert Vusak	1.12.2020 - 30.11.2
Dylan Botica	1.12.2020 - 30.11.2
Harry Brooking	15.06.2021 - 30.11.2
Luke Brosnan	1.12.2019 - 30.11.2
Min Dee Chia	1.12.2019 - 30.11.2
Jason Kim	1.12.2019 - 30.11.2
Fatma Sehic	1.12.2019 - 30.11.2
Vacant	1.12.2019 - 30.11.2

Term

(a) Immediate Past President Hana Arai	1.12.2020 – 30.11.2021
(b) Manager Director David Luketina	ex officio
(c) Minute Secretary; Ben Adams	ex officio