

Student Guild of Curtin University

54th Guild Council - Meeting #1

Thursday 1 December 2022

137 St George's

Terrace, Perth

MINUTES

Meeting Opened 12.48pm

1. Acknowledgement of the Traditional Owners

"The Curtin Student Guild would like to pay our respect to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander members of our community by acknowledging the traditional owners of the land on which the Bentley Campus is located, the Wadjuk people of the Nyungar Nation; and on our Kalgoorlie Campus, the Wongutha people of the North-Eastern Goldfields. We acknowledge and respect their continuing culture and the contribution they make to the life of this university, city and this region."

2. Attendance

- 2.1. Members Present; Rey Nairn, Dylan Botica; Jasmyne Twee, Veronika Gobba, Salwa Kilzi (12.50pm), Jacquie Bicanic, Yie Xin Cheong, Cassidy Pemberton, Adam Reader, Vishaal Ananth, Tahni Rowe, Max Zhang, Hannah Northey
- 2.2. Others Present; David Luketina (Managing Director), Maryanne Shaddick (Minute Secretary), Mitchell Craig, Ryan Kirby, Joren Regan, Hiba Alsoeady, Ashok Radhakrishnan, Imari Morris, February Metcalf
- 2.3. Apologies and Leave of Absence;
- 2.4. Absent; Athina Hilman, Hameed Mohammed, Aleena Shaji
- 3. Disclosure of any potential or perceived Conflicts of Interest. Conflicts of interest were noted for Jasmyne Tweed (4.1), Adam reader (4.1 and 4.2), Cassidy Pemberton (4.2), Aleena Alsoeady (4.1), Yie Xin Cheong (4.2) and Max Zhang (4.2).
- 4. Appointments
 - 4.1. Uncontested Appointments to Positions

Motion: That the Guild Council notes the uncontested appointments of the following members to the positions:

Secretary:

Jasmyne Tweed

Chair of Guild Council:

Adam Reader

Deputy Chair of Guild Council:

Aleena Shaji

Moved: Rey Nairn

Seconded: Cassidy Pemberton

Carried

4.2. Uncontested Appointments to Committees

Motion: That the Guild Council notes the uncontested appointments to the following boards and committees:

Moved: Salwa Kilzi

Seconded: Jacquie Bicanic,

Carried

Legal committee:

Cassidy Pemberton, Adam Reader

Finance and Risk Committee:

• Max Zhang, Yie Xin Cheong, Athina Hilman

5. Next Meeting

The next ordinary meeting of the Guild Council is TBC.

Meeting closed 12.52pm